



International African Vaccinology Conference

Advocating for efforts to protect African children, families and communities from the threat of infectious diseases

Cape Town, South Africa

9 to 11 November 2012









Hosted by the Vaccines for Africa Initiative (VACFA), University of Cape Town (UCT), the conference is jointly organized by UCT and the National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD/NHLS).

The conference chairs are Prof Gregory Hussey (UCT), Prof Shabir Madhi (NICD/NHLS), Prof Barry Schoub (NICD/NHLS).

The conference will focus on critical vaccine and immunisation issues for Africa and the world as we approach the 2015 deadline for achieving the Millennium Development Goals including research, policy, advocacy, and communication. It will provide a forum for discussion on vaccinology in Africa, including science, clinical, public health and health systems research.

Be part of the rendezvous: A vaccine conference in Africa, for Africa, about Africa.

Venue: Lagoon Beach Hotel, Cape Town, South Africa Dates: Friday 9 to Sunday 11 November 2012

Contact: <u>Deidre.Raubenheimer@uct.ac.za</u>, or visit the <u>VACFA</u> <u>website</u> for more details.

PLEASE SEE OVERLEAF FOR: CALL FOR ABSTRACTS, SPONSORSHIP, SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE.

Call for abstracts: These can now be submitted on the conference <u>website</u>. Deadline for submission: 31 March 2012

Some sponsorship is available for African delegates whose abstracts are accepted for either oral or poster presentation.

Conference organizing committee:

Prof Gregory Hussey (VACFA, UCT), Prof Shabir Madhi (NICD/NHLS), Prof Barry Schoub (NICD/NHLS), Dr Anthony Hawkridge (VACFA, UCT), Dr Charles Wiysonge (VACFA, UCT), Dr Zainab Waggie (VACFA, UCT)

Members of the scientific advisory committee:

Prof Keith Klugman (Emory University, US), Prof Michael Gold (University of Adelaide, Australia), Prof Duncan Steele (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, US), Prof Prakash Jeena (University of KwazuluNatal, South Africa), Prof George Armah (Noguchi Memorial Institute, Ghana), Prof Chantal Akoua-Koffi (University of Bouake, Côte d'Ivoire), Prof Phillipa Musoke (Makerere University, Uganda), Prof Wondimagegnehu Mekasha (Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia), Dr Neil Cameron (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa), Prof Brian Eley (UCT, South Africa), Mr Flint Zulu (UNICEF, NY), Dr Andrew Bakainaga (WHO, Uganda), Dr Bernd Benninghoff (GSK Biologicals, Belgium), Dr Mark Fletcher (Pfizer, France), Dr Jean-Antoine Zinsou (Sanofi Pasteur, South Africa).