The South African Parliament Recognises the NICD Team

Eight teams from the National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD), under the leadership of Prof Janusz Paweska, Head of the Centre for Emerging and Zoonotic Diseases at the NICD, including two volunteers from the University of Pretoria were deployed from 16 August 2014 until 25 March 2015 to West Africa’s Sierra Leone, in order to assist in combating the most devastating Ebola Outbreak in medical history.
It is in this regard that the Parliament of South Africa has recently conveyed a congratulatory message to the brave and selfless individuals who make up the NICD team. The message comes at a time when health professionals, in particular those employed at the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) are criticised for the quality of their service by some media.
“This message from the Government of South Africa bears testament to the recognition of the importance and invaluable work undertaken by the NHLS and NICD, which is to improve the health of all citizens in South Africa and the African continent at large” said Ms Joyce Mogale, the Interim CEO of the NHLS.
The names of the noble team members and dates of when they were deployed are as follows:

 TEAM 1 – Date 16 August 2014 to 1 October 2014
Janusz Paweska (Team leader)
Petrus Jansen van Vuren
Chantel le Roux
Gunther Meier
 TEAM 2 – Date: 20 September 2014 to 6 November 2014
Alan Kemp (Team leader)
Nadia Storm
Phumza Lekhuleni
 TEAM 3 – Date: 2 November 2014 to 17 December 2014
Petrus Jansen van Vuren (Team leader)
Busisiwe Mogodi
Orienka Heliferscee
Lisa Ming Sun
Desiree du Plessis
 TEAM 4 – Date: 24 November 2014 to 23 December 2014
 Janusz Paweska (Team leader)
 Gunther Meier
 TEAM 5 – Date:  7 December 2014 to 10 January 2015 
Cardia Fourie  (Team leader)
Nishi Prabdial-Sing
Deidre Greyling
Shayne Loubser
 TEAM 6 – Date:  4 January 2015 to 10 February 2015
Prabha Naidoo (Team leader)
Mark Goosen
Stewart McCulloch (University of Pretoria)
Terence Scott (University of Pretoria)
 TEAM 7 – Date: 1 February 2015 to 11 March 2015
Serisha Naicker (Team leader)
Wesley Dlamini
Alexandra Moerdyk
 TEAM 8 – Date: 26 February 2015 to 26 March 2015
Janusz Paweska (Team leader)
Petrus Jansen van Vuren
Issued by: Communication, Marketing & PR Department
1 Modderfontein Road, Sandringham, Johannesburg

Diseases A-Z Index



Share on facebook
Share on twitter